Reviews

Million Dollar Meatballs
Cassville Democrat, April 5, 2017

Director Susan Ramonette shared her perspective on the play: "As a first time director, this is a challenge; the challenge is to get the actors to stop laughing during rehearsal."


Trouble in Paradise Junction
Private Email, March 28, 2017

Thanks for writing such a delightful play! We just finished our three-day run of the show, and it was very well received. This was my first time directing a large production (this is our group's 23rd annual production), and it was a great experience. I ended up playing Wilbur because we were short one actor, and the scene with Ernie and Wilbur at the breakfast table was a short stopper!

Steve Merriam
Buchanan Black Box Players
Buchanan, Saskatchewan


The Butler Did It!
The Roanoke Times, October 12, 2016

Wallinger's comedy is amusing, engagingly plotted catnip to amateur sleuths in the audience--and, as always with Attic [Productions] shows, fun for those on both sides of the proscenium.


Million Dollar Meatballs
Discover Humboldt, August 22, 2016

[T]here was great food, a great atmosphere, and it was a hilarious play. The crowds were laughing all throughout.


Rumpelstiltskin, Private Eye
Theatre Colorado, April 30, 2016

Wallinger's script has something for everyone. The kids connect to the fairy tale characters and the constant physical comedy. Adults get a big dose of puns. Everyone has a good time, and the good guys win in the end. It doesn't get any better than that.


Rumpelstiltskin, Private Eye
The Greenville Advocate, February 16, 2016

Plenty of giggles, guffaws and chuckles came from an appreciative audience, who gave the cast members a standing ovation Friday night.


Rumpelstiltskin, Private Eye
Beatrice Daily SunNovember 11, 2015

Emily Allen, 10, who plays the Ugly Duckling, said they have had a lot of fun and laugh a lot during rehearsals. "I think this character fits me pretty well," she said. "I like to be funny, so this role has been fun to play."

"It's a funny, goofy show that we can play up the crimes and fairy tales in a funny way," [director Tyler] Rinne said. "The cast and I have had fun mixing the cute and fluffy creatures of our favorite fairy tales with the familiar tropes of hard-boiled crime fiction."


Kill the Critic!
Blog comment, August 24, 2015

Todd, I wanted to tell you how marvelously fun Kill the Critic! is. I will be playing Sylvia and we have a great cast and crew. The only disruption we have had is trying to keep from laughing at the dialogue and the action of the actors while rehearsing. The table read had the actors laughing hysterically. We anticipate our audience will appreciate the humor as much as we do. Thank you for allowing Stage Presence Players the chance to perform this wonderful, comedic farce. (Jeanne Colwell)


The Butler Did It!
KCC Paw Print, January 30, 2015

The play, "The Butler Did It!," is witty and entertaining, featuring lively characters and enough charm to make anyone laugh. The play centers around trying to figure out the murder of neighbor boy Trevor with the help of murder mystery author Edwina Corry.

"I love the play; it's hilarious and really funny," junior Kaitlyn Burns said.


The Butler Did It!
Personal message, January 15, 2015

We started our rehearsals for "The Butler Did It!" today. What a great show!! The cast was laughing in all the right places and didn't want to stop. Thanks for providing a great script to bring to life!!!

We are about 2 1/2 weeks away from opening "The Butler Did It!" We have had a wonderful time rehearsing. There are days we literally laugh until we cry. It is such a great show. We will be posting pictures soon. Thought you would like to know that we LOVE this play!!!

Mike Hancey

Laramie High School
Laramie, WY 


The Butler Did It!
JerEcho, December 22, 2014

The play is loaded with plenty of comedy and kept the audience laughing and sitting on the edges of their seats, eager to find out who the killer really was. [Alisha] Kochar said, "I thought it was really good. It was really funny."


You're Driving Me Crazy #3
Erie Times-News, August 28, 2014

During that inaugural performance, 90 minutes' worth of material translated to 12 plays. The funniest was Todd Wallinger's "You're Driving Me Crazy," an excellent showcase for the talents of Shaun Taylor, who is riotously funny as a batty driving instructor opposite Dreihaup's skeptical student. 



The Butler Did It!
Broadway World, June 9, 2014

Local playwright Wallinger has written a gently affectionate spoof of a drawing-room mystery, complete with a thinly veiled Agatha Christie clone and threaded with a black humor reminiscent of Arsenic and Old Lace. (One of the household members, a rifle-wielding granny convinced she's fighting the Boer War, is essentially a female variation on Arsenic's Uncle Teddy.) With shaky British accents and uneven comedic timing, the production at the Black Box is carried off with more enthusiasm than skill, but both the audience and myself found the show entertaining and humorous, and some performances do stand out...

While not perfect, The Butler Did It! has a lot of heart and humor behind it and is a fine offering from a Colorado author, and that is enough to recommend it.


The Butler Did It!
Theatre Colorado, June 6, 2014

Wallinger's script delicately sets up the mystery and the final payoff. His characters are decidedly typical of the genre, bringing both credibility and complexity to the story. There is an elegant symmetry to the plot, as both the Barstows and the Covingtons have the illusion of wealth but a justified fear of poverty. The British upper class is the butt of the biggest jokes Wallinger weaves into his story.

The Butler Did It is a safe, entertaining, and a pleasant diversion for all ages.


The Butler Did It!
Inside Northern Nevada, May 14, 2014

This hilariously funny play, with its twists and turns, captivated the audience and took everyone on a journey of mayhem, murder, and heart-warming sentiment.


The Butler Did It!
LeMars Daily Sentinel, April 29, 2014

[Director Mark] Morehead said he selected the play particularly because he appreciated the slapstick comedy in the script.

"I started reviewing scripts last fall," he said. "I came across this one and I read through it once and I laughed hysterically through the reading. ... It has really great one-liners."


The Butler Did It!
Cowra Guardian, March 26, 2014

"'The Butler Did It' appealed to me because it's such a funny and interesting story. It really leaves the audience guessing until the end and I could see the M&D being able to put it on successfully," [director Cassandra] Bird said. ... "The production is shaping up to be an amazing show."


You're Driving Me Crazy #4
Personal Email, January 6, 2014

I have been 'type cast' as a frustrated teacher, and I asked my students to help me memorize my lines before the Christmas break. To my surprise and delight, a student who had refused to read anything for me (from a book -- "I hate to read. I won't do it.") jumped at the chance to be Kendra, with no qualms about gender.

A shy student then took over for me as Ms. Granville and was hysterical. The 'non-reader' then agreed to read a play in the curriculum anthology! We are on a roll. They all read below grade level, if they can read.

And some of them are great audience members who willingly 'retell' the play etc. ... The class I teach is a self-contained Social-Emotional/Learning Disability classroom, and I am thrilled that we have all enjoyed the experience of your play.

Sincerely,
Nancy Hilliard, M. Ed.


Kill the Critic!
Brian D. Taylor Plays, June 30, 2013

This weekend, I had the privilege of catching the opening night of the world premiere of a new play by one of my favorite playwrights. The play: Kill the Critic! The playwright: Todd Wallinger.

Todd is a fantastic writer. He knows how to create like-able and engaging characters and tell entertaining stories. His dialogue is top-notch. As far as I know, he writes comedy primarily and he does it well. Not only does he know how build a comedic plot full of incredible but believable situations, but he also knows how to to build and deliver a punch line and wrap in an unexpected zinger from time to time, so that there’s a constant spice and pop to his dialogue.

Kill the Critic! is no exception. This play is sharp, witty and very well-written with fun characters and lots of surprises. I’m a sucker for physical comedy, and this play is full of physical humor and sight gags that are equally pertinent to the plot, true to the characters and genuinely hilarious. And every character is fun, engaging and mutli-dimensional. It’s clear that Todd has thought out each character’s backstory and through-story. The result is a play full of characters that are believable and enjoyable. Mix in Todd’s wit and a great plot and you have a great night of theatre.

My in-a-snap review would be, “Highly recommended!”


Long Tall Lester
Radville & Deep South Star, May 7, 2013

The seniors staged “Lester McChester or the Fastest Encyclopedia Salesman in the West” by Todd Wallinger. With Daniel Cherian playing the lead role of Lester and a cast of another seven shining, in other roles, the play was a sure entertainer.


The _urloined Letter
Pattonville Today, April 25, 2013

...a plethora of humorous moments and some references to pop culture. ... the humorous moments keep the viewer entertained...


Long Tall Lester
Wet Mountain Tribune, Jacque Keller, September 8, 2011

The Westcliffe Center for the Performing Arts brought to the stage four winning plays from this year’s New Rocky Mountain Voices competition. The unique presentation allowed the audience to not only meet the authors but also pick their brains about the stories they wrote. It’s the first experience for most of them to see their stories on stage and every script was witty and worthy of the recognition...

The western frolic of “Long Tall Lester” by Todd Wallinger was well done with card cheating antics of high schoolers Abby Ware and Shauna Stansbury. Becky Barrow played the hard nosed bar-keep, Jeff Meschke ran off to become an artist after the bad ass portrayed by the once again scoundrel Scott Piquette threatened him. Don’t typecast Piquette though. He debuted this summer as king of the fairies in Shakespeare and has shown his diversity. McKenzie Horton not only directed but also flaunted her feathers in this spoof. Jimmy Wenger saved the day in full style using brains over braun.


The __urloined Letter
Type-One, Harpreet Narula, November 2010

The next act was the debut of The Urloined Letter written by Todd Wallinger, who was among the audience that night. The short play was about a girl, played by Anna Kerr–the queen of the stage, who had her letter “P”s stolen by a mysterious thief. She seeks out the help of a detective, played by Noam Rosenthal, who questions an array of hilarious, comical, and strange suspects who all turn out to be innocent. Shocker! “Trouble Maecker” was pretending to have stolen her “P”s in order to preserve her singing career or at least the insurance she was getting from the lack of it. Students and parents could not prevent themselves from bursting out in laughter at the comical, misshapen characters, their absurd personalities, and their ridiculous behaviors. "I was laughing so hard I almost cried. My favorite part was when Anna Kerr was dragged off stage kicking, screaming, and swearing revenge on the detective. That was one of my favorite plays,” says Ravila Bhimani.